Free Short Courses

Scotland

Short courses will give you hands-on experience, access to industry knowledge, professional equitment and a host of other useful skills and knowledge. On successful completion, you will be awarded a BTEC Level 3 and throughout the whole process, you will receive guidance and support from one of AMS’s specialist trainers.

If you have a question, drop us an email

Short courses in music production
500
Students
60
Professional Tutors
6
Regional Centres

COURSE DETAILS

Sound Production

Do you have interest in sound production? Or just want to learn how to record your own music at home? Our free Sound Production short course offers a comprehensive introduction to everything you need to know about recording techniques.

This includes recording live instruments, MIDI recording, layering, mixing, mastering and more.  With access to industry-standard audio equipment and software, as well as expert tutors to get you up to speed, the course is a perfect introduction to the modern recording industry.

 

Glasgow dates

  • Saturday 9th June – 14th July (6 consecutive Saturdays, 10AM – 5PM)
  • Monday 11th June – 15th June (Monday to Friday week intensive, 10AM – 5PM) FULLY BOOKED
  • Monday 2nd July – 6th July (Monday to Friday week intensive, 10AM – 5PM) FULLY BOOKED
  • Monday 30th July – 3rd August (Monday to Friday week intensive, 10AM – 5PM)
  • Monday 6th August – 10th August (Monday to Friday week intensive, 10AM – 5PM)
  • Saturday 18th August – 22nd September (6 consecutive Saturdays, 10AM – 5PM)
  • Sunday 2nd September – 7th October (6 consecutive Sundays, 10AM – 5PM)

 

Edinburgh dates

Dates TBC 

 


WiLMS (Glasgow only)

If you’re looking to develop your ability on an instrument or improve your songwriting, this is the course for you. Allowing you to work towards a creative project and live performance, it provides an accurate representation of working within live music to a professional standard.

You can learn from our accomplished team of active musicians while in a supportive, small group environment.  You’ll design your own practice routine, play solo pieces and collaborate with other musicians. The course provides an excellent grounding to progress within the music industry, and is a great opportunity to meet and work with like-minded musicians.

You must be 16+ in order to attend this course, terms and conditions apply.

 

Dates

Hamish Roberts Acoustic Fingerstyle Guitar Workshop (WiLMS)

  • Monday 18th June – Friday 29th June (2 weeks intensive, 10AM – 5PM)
  • Monday 9th July – Friday 20th July (2 weeks intensive, 10AM – 5PM)
  • Saturday 15th September – 1st December (12 consecutive Saturdays, 10AM – 1PM, performance TBC)
  • Sunday 30th September – 16th December (12 consecutive Sundays, 10AM – 1PM, performance TBC)

 

Donna Macioca Songwriting Workshop (WiLMS)

  • Monday 4th June – 8th June (Monday to Friday week intensive, 10AM – 5PM, performance on 15th June)
  • Monday 16th July – 20th July (Monday to Friday week intensive, 10AM – 5PM, performance on 27th July)

 

Allan James Drum Workshop (WiLMS)

  • Monday 8th October – 19th October (Monday to Friday 2-week intensive, 10AM – 5PM, Tuesdays and Thursdays off)

 


Womens Employability in the Music Industry (Edinburgh Only)

Taught by Karlyn King, Popular Music lecturer and researcher at BIMM and University of Birmingham with Guest lecturer Yvonne McLellan who has a breadth of experience working with companies like Universal Music, Island Records, Sony ATV Publishing, working for artists such as Eminem and Oasis. Yvonne also spent 6 years on the judging panel T-Break (T in the Park), 2 years as a guest on Radio 1’s BBC Introducing A&R Zone.

The 4-day short course takes place over two consecutive weekends at 1 Grassmarket:

Saturday 9th June
Sunday 10th June
Saturday 16th June
Sunday 17th June

 

Digital Synthesis and Sampling (Glasgow Only)

The course will cover techniques for digital synthesis and sampling. You will learn how to make your own digital instrument using Axoloti Patcher and an Axoloti Core (provided) which you can take away at the end of the course. You will also learn about the technical side of setting up your instrument in a studio or live setting, giving a short musical demonstration of your instrument on the last day of the course.

  • Monday 18th June to Friday 22nd June (10AM – 5PM, instrument presentation on 29th June)
  • Monday 9th July to Friday 13th July (10AM – 5PM, instrument presentation on 20th July)
Fife College

Level: 3
Length: Various
Fees: FREE
Study Locations:
Edinburgh • Glasgow

How to Apply
Our free short courses are only available at our centres in Scotland. Contact Edinburgh or Glasgow to apply.
Apply