STUDENT SUPPORT

Health & Wellbeing

We take the wellbeing of our students extremely seriously. Individuals in the creative industries put their emotions and vulnerability up for judgement; we understand the impact and anxiety this can have on confidence. We help and support our students, not just in their study and career, but also personal life, to develop the tools to cope and channel these pressures.

Whether you are on or off stage, your physical health can be affected, so we offer guidance specific to hazards you may come across while working in the industry, such as taking care of your hearing and voice, to repetitive strain and health and safety at music events.

Unfortunately, we are not trained professionals in physical or mental health and can only help to a certain extent, but we will always be willing to lend an ear or signpost to those who can offer specialist guidance.

Students With Disabilities

We are committed to providing all our students with the ability to access education and all that it has to offer. It is an exciting journey and our aim is to ensure that your learning experience is rewarding and enjoyable.

In-centre support

  • Academic tutorials
  • Disability and learning support
  • An open-door policy with parents and students
  • Safeguarding and Prevent
  • Signposting
  • Career guidance

Useful Links

Music Week – musicweek.com

Music Business Worldwide – musicbusinessworldwide.com

Complete Music Update – completemusicupdate.com

Record of the Day – recordoftheday.com

IQ – iq-mag.net

Festival Insights – festivalinsights.com

Musically – musically.com

The Creative Industries – thecreativeindustries.co.uk

PRS Music – Music Licensing – prsformusic.com

PPL – Music Licensing – ppluk.com

Help Musicians UK – helpmusicians.org.uk

The Association of Professional Recording Services – aprs.co.uk

British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors – basca.org.uk

Women in Music – womeninmusic.org.uk

British Recorded Music Industry/British Phonographic Industry (BPI) – bpi.co.uk

Association of Independent Music (AIM) – musicindie.com

Scottish Music Industry Association – smia.org.uk

Music Industries Association – mia.org.uk

Music Producers Guild – mpg.org.uk

Musicians Union – musiciansunion.org.uk

UK Music – ukmusic.org

Drake Music – National Organisation Working in Music, Disability and Technology – drakemusic.org

Drake Music Scotland – drakemusicscotland.org

Sound City – Liverpool – liverpoolsoundcity.co.uk

Brighton Music Conference – Brighton – brightonmusicconference.co.uk

Wide Days – Edinburgh – widedays.com

EPO North – Inverness – xponorth.co.uk

International Live Music Conference (ILMC) – London – ilmc.com

Off the Record – Manchester – otrmcr.co.uk

The Unsigned Guide- UK Music Industry Contacts Directory – theunsignedguide.com

Ditto Music- List of Festival Opportunities – dittomusic.com/blog/latest-music-opportunities

The Big Music Project – Careers Advice, Opportunities and Entry Level Jobs – thebigmusicproject.co.uk

Media Match – News, Jobs and Freelance Opportunities – media-match.com/uk/music

The Dots- Jobs in the Creative Industries – the-dots.com

DK Management – Advice for bands and artists – dkmanagement.co.uk/blog

British Dyslexia Association – bdadyslexia.org.uk

Dyspraxia Foundation – dyspraxiafoundation.org.uk

National Attention Deficit Disorder Information and Support Service (ADDISS) – addiss.co.uk

The National Autistic Society – autism.org.uk

Speech, Language and Communication Difficulties – afasic.org.uk

Dyscalculia Information Centre – dyscalculia.me.uk

British Association for Performing Arts Medicine – bapam.org.uk

Musicians Health Collective – musicianshealthcollective.com

Tinnitus – tinnitus.org.uk

Repetitive Strain Injury – rsiaction.org.uk

Health and Safety Executive – hse.gov.uk

Sound Advice – Noise at Work in Music and Entertainment – soundadvice.info

Free Risk Assessments for Freelance or Small Enterprises – oiraproject.eu/oira-tools

Mind – For Better Mental Health – mind.org.uk

Mental Health Foundation – mentalhealth.org.uk

Scottish Association for Mental Health – samh.org.uk

UK’s Eating Disorder Charity – beateatingdisorders.org.uk

Talk to Frank – talktofrank.com

Alcohol Concern – alcoholconcern.org.uk

Samaritans 24-hour helpline: 116 123 (freephone) samaritans.org

Emotional support for anyone feeling down, experiencing distress or struggling to cope.

 

NSPCC helpline (adults): 0800 800 5000 nspcc.org.uk

NSPCC helpline (children and young people): 0800 1111

 

Childline 0800 1111 childline.org.uk

Free 24-hour helpline for children and young people in the UK.

 

The Mix 0808 808 4994 themix.org.uk

Essential support for under 25’s. Email and instant messaging also available via their website.

 

Family Lives (formerly Parentline Plus) 0808 800 2222 familylives.org.uk

Support to anyone parenting a child.

 

Young Minds 020 7089 5050 (general enquiries)

0808 802 5544 (parents helpline, for any adult with concerns about the mental health of a child or young person) youngminds.org.uk

National charity committed to improving the mental health of all babies, children and young people. Provides information for both parents and young people

 

LGBT+ Foundation 0300 330 063 switchboard.lgbt

LGBT+ helpline ran by volunteers who self-define as LGBT+